collapse collapse

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 56
  • Dot Hidden: 1
  • Dot Users: 6
  • Dot Users Online:

Author Topic: Thesis: Resurrection of ancient Egyptian language  (Read 983 times)

Offline Pawabitui

• Shemsu
Thesis: Resurrection of ancient Egyptian language
« on: December 13, 2013, 06:51:51 am »
Em Hotep.

I had many thoughts and ideas during the last days, through which I learned many things since I am just a beginner to all there is about the house of Netjer and the Kemetic Orthodoxy. Tanebet encouraged me often to pose my questions, and so I finally decided for one to give it a try, but there are many more. ^^”
And what I'm going to write here is just a thesis, just a thought, nothing full-out serious in terms of “it has to be done” or anything like that. :)

As mentioned in the title I think about the resurrection of the ancient Egyptian language. Like Latin it's a dead language since long and the hieroglyphs still have their riddles and secrets for the archaeologists. But I learned by now that we have many texts that we can read, we have an idea about how to pronounce words and especially the purifications give us an idea of grammar.
There is the counter part that we have only the written language to guide us, and we can't tell for sure it follows the same rules as the spoken language of ancient Egypt. But we have a pretty good idea of how it >might< have worked. There is plenty of information towards how words were constructed and pronounced, one could reconstruct how new terms were formed so authentic words could be created for modern things like cars and computers.