collapse collapse

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 88
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 1
  • Dot Users Online:

Author Topic: Does the gods understand when we call them by various different names?...  (Read 274 times)

Offline Detetive

(first of all sorry for my bad english...) I was with this question in mind...but most gods have a lot of names like Seth / Setesh / Sutekh... Does the gods understand when we call them by the different names they have or just with one especific...im a beginner in kemetism...sorry for the dumb question XD...
☥ Dua Set, Dua Yinepu ☥

Offline Gezausenu

• Shemsu-Ankh
Re: Does the gods understand when we call them by various different names?...
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2018, 09:09:52 pm »
Em hotep, friend!

I think your English is beautiful. <3 And your question is not dumb! <3

Yes, I definitely think the Gods know Who we're talking about or talking to, even if we use one of the variations of Their Names (whether Kemetic or Greek; this can be tricky with Aset and Isis, but does Djehuty know you're talking to Him if you're calling Him "Thoth"? Or Wesir, "Osiris"? I do think so, yes).

And for what it's worth, I'll bet Papa Set appreciates your use of Setesh / Sutekh especially. They feel very, very ancient to me . . . "Setesh" sounds like a bolt of lightning to me. <3

I'll be very curious to hear what others think!

Senebty,
Gezausenu.
I have left the House, but free services for Papa Set and Mama Sekhmet will always be offered to anyone who asks. Please e-mail me at gezausenu@gmail.com if you need anything at all. Ever. <3

Offline Taji

• Divined Remetj
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2018, 09:14:17 pm »
I think it’s good to remember as well that the names by which we know the gods aren’t their True Names. They keep those close.