[PUBLIC] About the Kemetic Orthodox Religion > [PUBLIC] Kemetic Orthodox Q&A

When your family would disapprove of your spiritual path

(1/3) > >>

Nesertem:
I'm a newbie who is considering to join the beginner's class. My parents live with me, I'm not dependent on them (I make enough to support myself), but they would absolutely disapprove of me joining any pagan religion. Especially since my mental illness really started to show itself when I began exploring my spiritual path. (Those inner voices have no power over me now though.) Would it be against Ma'at for me to pursue Kemetic Orthodoxy? I am developing my practice but I feel the need for community and I wish to serve a higher purpose.

Ta-idet:
It's not the most ideal but as long as you're not a minor, you should be fine! There are definitely people in the House in similar situations to yourself. Ideally you'd need to be able to have a physical practice, like maintaining shrines and performing Senut, so that may be an obstacle (if you need to keep stuff hidden) but there are plenty of (discreet) ways around that, too, until you're in a better living situation. As long as your living situation wouldn't be at risk and there is no danger to your person.  :)

Tai'awepwawet:
Ma'at is a concept that ultimately, we as mere mortals can only do our best to work towards. We don't know for sure what is or isn't ma'at, though in many cases we can take a very good guess!

What I'm meaning here is, some might say potentially disrupting your family life goes against ma'at. Others might say that forcing someone to live under the shackles of an oppressive family is against ma'at. Who is right? We don't really know.